Katma Award Winners

In 2016 AOU and COS presented annual awards to honor members for outstanding service and contributions to science. Today we’re featuring the winners of COS’s prestigious Katma Award.

Image of Robert Storer (Katma Award)
The annual Katma Award was sponsored by Dr. Robert W. Storer

The Katma Award, honoring an outstanding paper related to ornithology that offers unconventional idea or innovative approaches, was presented to Drs. Muhammad Asghar, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, Dennis Hasselquist, Lund University, Lund, Sweden, Bengt Hansson, Lund University, Pavel Zehtindjiev, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria, Helena Westerdahl, Lund University, and Staffan Bensch, Lund University, for their paper “Hidden costs of infection: Chronic malaria accelerates telomere degradation and senescence in wild birds” which appeared in 2015 in Science. Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s