The American Ornithological Society Welcomes the 2017 Class of Elective Members

59 Individuals Recognized for Significant Contributions to Ornithology

At the opening of annual conference of the American Ornithological Society (AOS) in East Lansing, MI, on 1 August 2017, the Society welcomed 59 new Elective Members (the largest slate of Elective Members in recent history), each selected by their peers for their significant contributions to ornithology and/or service to the AOS. In keeping with the AOS’ geographic focus, Elective Members are residents or citizens of the Western Hemisphere, and represent the of the global ornithology community.

This year’s newly recognized Elective Members are Courtney Amundson (U.S. Geological Survey), David Anderson (The Peregrine Fund), Chris Balakrishnan (East Carolina University), Karl Berg (University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley), Eli Bridge (University of Oklahoma), Leo Campagna (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology), Julia Clarke (University of Texas – Austin), Melanie Colon (Texas A&M University), Tara Conkling (U.S. Geological Survey), Nathan W. Cooper (Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center), Robert J. Cooper (University of Georgia), Kristen Covino (Canisius College), Claire Curry (University of Oklahoma), Ray Danner (University of North Carolina – Wilmington), William V. DeLuca (University of Massachusetts), Jill Deppe (Eastern Illinois University), Elizabeth Derryberry (Univ of Tennessee – Knoxville) Pierre Deviche (Arizona State University), Robert Diehl (U.S. Geological Survey), Carla Fontana (Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul), Victoria Garcia (Old Dominion University), Richard Gibbons (Houston Audubon), Emma Greig (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology), Amanda Hale (Texas Christian University), Robert Hamilton (Hamilton Biological, Inc.), Matthew D. Johnson (Humboldt State University), Sara Kaiser (National Zoological Park), Sarah Knutie (University of Connecticut), David Koons (Colorado State University), Susannah B. Lerman (University of Massachusetts), Haw Chuan Lim (National Museum of Natural History), John D. Lloyd (Vermont Center for Ecostudies), Ashley Long (Texas A&M University), Teresa Lorenz (U.S. Forest Service), Alberto Macias-Duarte (Universidad Estatal de Sonora), James Maley (Occidental College), Paul Martin (Queen’s University), Nicholas Mason (Cornell University), Luciano Naka (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco), Karan Odom (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology), Ken Otter (University of Northern British Columbia), Kristina L. Paxton (University of Hawai‘i Hilo), Eben Paxton (Hawaii Volcano National Park), Noah Perlut (University of New England), Christin Pruett (Tabor College), Matthew W. Reudink (Thompson Rivers University), Christine Ribic (U.S. Geological Survey and University of Wisconsin), Jeremy D. Ross (University of Oklahoma), Sarah Sonsthagen (U.S. Geological Survey), Mary Cassie Stoddard (Princeton University), Henry Streby (University of Toledo), Colin E. Studds (University of Maryland – Baltimore County), Ildiko Szabo (University of British Columbia), Scott Taylor (University of Colorado – Boulder), Scott B. Terrill (H. T. Harvey & Associates), Caroline Van Hemert (U.S. Geological Survey), Benjamin M. Winger (University of Michigan), Stefan Woltmann (Austin Peay State University), and Theodore J. Zenzal (University of Southern Mississippi).

New Elective Members are nominated each year by current Elective Members, Fellows or by AOS’ nominations committee, and are confirmed through a vote of the current Elective Members and Fellows. “Being named an Elective Member of the AOS means that ornithological leaders have chosen to formally recognize their accomplishments and contributions to the scientific community. Joining the ranks of Elective Members is an important event in our professional society,” says Steve Beissinger, president of the AOS. “For over a century, the Society has made a point of celebrating excellence among our colleagues working to advance our understanding of birds and contributing to our scientific knowledge in order to conserve them. The AOS is honored to have this opportunity to recognize the next generation of ornithologists.”

For more information on AOS Elective Members and the Society’s special membership classes, visit


One thought on “The American Ornithological Society Welcomes the 2017 Class of Elective Members

Comments are closed.