The American Ornithological Society Welcomes the 2017 Class of Fellows

26 Individuals Recognized for Outstanding Contributions to Ornithology

At the opening of the annual conference of the American Ornithological Society (AOS) in East Lansing, MI, on 1 August 2017, the Society welcomed 26 new Fellows, each selected by their peers for their outstanding contributions to the field of ornithology and their service to the AOS. In keeping with the AOS’ geographic focus, Fellows are residents or citizens of the Western Hemisphere, and represent the most eminent members of the global ornithology community.

This year’s newly elected Fellows are:

Ted Anderson (McKendree University, retired), W. Alice Boyle (Kansas State University), Sarah E. Bush (University of Utah), Anna D. Chalfoun (University of Wyoming), Caren Beth Cooper (North Carolina State University & North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences), Renee Duckworth (University of Arizona), Katie Dugger (Oregon State University), David Ewert (The Nature Conservancy), Corey Freeman-Gallant (Skidmore College), Sharon Gill (Western Michigan University), Carole S. Griffiths (Long Island University), Janet Hinshaw (University of Michigan), Kathryn Huyvaert (Colorado State University), Andrew W. Jones (Cleveland Museum of Natural History), Catherine Lindell (Michigan State University), Andrew L. Mack (Cassowary Conservation and Publishing), Vladimir Pravosudov (University of Nevada), J. Jordan Price (St. Mary’s College of Maryland), Paul G. Rodewald (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology), Thomas B Ryder (Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center), John Smallwood (Montclair State University), Karen Steenhof (U.S. Geological Survey, retired), Caz Taylor (Tulane University), Charles H. Trost (Idaho State University), Jason D. Weckstein (Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University), and Blair Wolf (University of New Mexico).

New Fellows are nominated each year by current Fellows or by AOS’ nominations committee, and are confirmed through a vote of the current Fellows at the annual meeting. “Scientists are typically so busy doing science that we sometimes fail to celebrate the accomplishments of our colleagues,” says Steve Beissinger, President of the AOS. “It is our tradition, and responsibility, to formally recognize Fellows of the AOS. These are ornithologists who have made significant contributions to the advancement of scientific understanding of birds and to the promotion of a rigorous scientific basis for the conservation of birds.”

For more information on AOS Fellows and the Society’s special membership classes, visit

One thought on “The American Ornithological Society Welcomes the 2017 Class of Fellows

Comments are closed.