The American Ornithological Society Welcomes the 2018 Class of Fellows

26 Individuals Recognized for Outstanding Contributions to Ornithology

At the opening of the 2018 AOS annual conference in Tucson, Arizona, on April 9, 2018, the Society welcomed 26 new Fellows, each selected by their peers for their outstanding contributions to the field of ornithology and their service to the AOS. In keeping with the AOS’ geographic focus, Fellows are residents or citizens of the Western Hemisphere, and represent the most eminent members of the global ornithology community.

This year’s newly elected Fellows are:

Robert J. Cooper (University of Georgia)
Russell D. Dawson (University of Northern British Columbia)
Elizabeth P. Derryberry (University of Tennessee)
David J. Green (Simon Fraser University)
Sallie J. Hejl (University of Arizona)
Darren E. Irwin (University of British Columbia)
Todd E. Katzner (United States Geological Survey)
Rolf R. Koford (Iowa Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit – retired)
Gary M. Langham (National Audubon Society)
Sara J. Oyler-McCance  (USGS Fort Collins Science Center)
Liba Pejchar (Colorado State University)
Kathryn L. Purcell (USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station)
Sushma Reddy (Loyola University Chicago)
Richard T. Reynolds (USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station)
Dustin R. Rubenstein (Columbia University)
Victoria A. Saab (USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station)
Michael A. Schroeder (Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife)
Cagan H. Sekercioglu (University of Utah)
Wayne E. Thogmartin (United States Geological Survey Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center)
Morgan W. Tingley (University of Connecticut)
Andrea K. Townsend (Hamilton College)
Eric VanderWerf (Pacific Rim Conservation)
Enriqueta Velarde (Instituto de Ciencias Marinas y Pesquerias, Universidad Veracruzana)
Eric L. Walters (Old Dominion University)
Nils D. Warnock (Audubon Alaska)
Jean L. Woods (Delaware Museum of Natural History)

New Fellows are nominated each year by current Fellows or by AOS nominations committee.  Nominees are vetted by a committee of Fellows, and are elected through a vote of the current Fellows at the annual meeting. “Our Society is pleased to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of our colleagues built over their careers,” says Kathy Martin, president of the AOS. “It is our tradition, and responsibility, to formally recognize Fellows of the AOS. These are ornithologists who have made significant and sustained contributions to the advancement of scientific understanding of birds and to the rigorous scientific basis for the conservation of birds.  AOS Fellows represent excellence in our discipline, and are important models and mentors to others early in their career.”

For more information on AOS Fellows and the Society’s special membership classes, visit