Importance of Participating in the Process of Nominations

A great way to become engaged in your society is to participate in annual nominations and elections for Officers and Councilors. We invite all members to submit nominations for the four AOS Elective Councilor positions, the AOS Secretary and the AOS Treasurer. Nominations should be submitted to the Secretary by 30 November 2018. Note: nominations require the consent of the nominee. Please e-mail nominations to AOS Secretary, Andrew Jones, at

Elections will take place by electronic and paper ballots in advance of the 137th Stated Meeting of the AOS in Anchorage, AK, in June 2019. We are pleased that our incumbent Secretary Andrew Jones, and Treasurer Rebecca Kimball, have agreed to stand for re-election. Of the twelve Elective Councilors, four are elected annually to serve terms of approximately three years, beginning at the close of the next Stated Meeting. Elective Councilors rotating off Council at the conclusion of the 137th Stated Meeting in Anchorage next June are Melissa Bowlin, Renee Duckworth, Scott Edwards, and Nathaniel Wheelwright. Continuing to serve in 2019-2020 will be Elective Councilors Anna Chalfoun, Abby Powell, Andrea Townsend, Mike Webster, Sara Morris, Sharon Gill, Peter Dunn, and Christopher Witt.

Additional information describing AOS’s governance and the nomination-election process is available on the website.

Please e-mail nominations and any inquiries to AOS Secretary, Andrew Jones, at